Decimal number system- Definition, Video Explained

The decimal number system is a number system with a base of 10, so there are 10 different numbers or symbols. 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9.

All higher numbers after 9 are expressed in terms of Only these 10 digits. The process of writing higher-order numbers after 9 includes writing The second number, then the other numbers to get the next 10 numbers From 10 to 19.

By writing the third digit (ie First is 2, then the numbers 0 to 9, one after the other. This process continues until we have exhausted all Possible two-digit combinations, and reach 99. Then, we start with the three-digit combination.

The first three digits consist of the lowest two digits, followed by 0, and The process continues.

Also Read: Log and Antilog Amplifiers: Applications, Circuit Explained

Decimal number system
Decimal number system

what is decimal number system

The number is based on 10. The way of representing decimal numbers with 10 as the base is also called decimal notation.

This digital system is widely used in computer applications. It is also called the base 10 number system, which consists of 10 numbers, such as 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9.

Each number in the has a position, and the effective digit of each number is ten times higher than the previous number. Assuming that 25 is a decimal number, then 2 is ten times 5.

Also Read: Op-Amp: Current to Voltage Converter

how many digits are there in the decimal number system

The number is based on 10, where each value is represented by 0 or the first 9 positive integers. The power of each value in this number system is 10.

We have seen that the position value is a function of the cardinality of the number system, and The position of the numbers.

We will also discover the concept of each number in subsequent chapters Have a position value that depends on the digital position and the base of the digital system is It is equally valid for other more relevant digital systems.

Also Read: Op-Amp: Voltage to Current Converter Explained


What is decimal number system

Decimals, also known as Indian Arabic or Arabic number system in mathematics, the position number system is based on 10 and requires 10 different numbers, the numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 It also requires a point (decimal point) to represent the decimal part.

What are the 4 types of number system

Decimal number system (Base- 10)
Binary number system (Base- 2)
Octal number system (Base-8)
Hexadecimal number system (Base- 16)

Where is decimal number system used

Binary, octal, decimal and hexadecimal number systems are used for microprocessor programming. If the base value of a number system is 10, then it is called a decimal number system, and it plays the most important role in the development of science and technology.

What is the best value of decimal number system

Decimal Number System [Base-10]

What are the 3 types of decimals

Terminating decimal: There are finite digits after the decimal point.
Recurring decimal: there are one or more repeated numbers or sequence of numbers after the decimal point, and these numbers can be continuous indefinitely.
Decimals always exist, never end, and never form a repeating pattern. These numbers are called irrational numbers and cannot be expressed as fractions. We introduced these decimals in the numbers course.

YouTube Video

Continue Reading…

Leave a Comment